A W I   P r e s i d e n t s

President:  David van Nunen OAM

David van Nunen, AWI President

We are indebted not only to our founders but equally to the succession of presidents, office bearers, executive committee members and membership who, throughout its long history, have furthered the aims, ethos, aesthetic ideals and professional standards of the Australian Watercolour Institute.

In tribute to their service, we present below biographical information about each AWI President, as well as their individual contributions to both the AWI and Australian visual arts culture.

B. E. Minns 1923−37
J.W. Maund 1938 – 45
John Eldershaw 1945-48
Rah Fizelle 1948-51
H.W. Grace 1951-52
Hal Missingham 1952-55
Lorna Nimmo 1955-58
George Duncan 1958-64
Brian Stratton OAM 1964-72
Frederic Bates OAM 1972-85
Brian Gaston 1985-89
Graham Austin OAM 1989-2003
Peter Pinson OAM 2003-06
Brian Stratton OAM 2006-2009
David van Nunen OAM 2009-

Copyright © Australian Watercolour Institute